Elders make up the church’s governing body which is called the Session.  Mission del Sol, like all Presbyterian churches, is a representative democracy. The word “Presbyterian” actually comes from the Greek word presbuteros which means “elder.”

We are governed by elders who are democratically chosen from and by the entire congregation. Governance and authority over church matters resides with these elected elders.  Our Session oversees the day-to-day-work of the church and supervises the Deacons, who are elected to conduct the temporal and charitable ministry of the church.  The Session is composed of 18 ruling elders. Elders serve a three-year term.


Class of 2017 Class of 2018 Class of 2019
David Boyne
Rob Henry
Larry Langer
John McComish
Gordon Parnell
Kathy Allemang
Owen Clymer
Susan Hernadez
Jeff McKenna
Larry Coffman
Phillip Horen
Dennis Richards
Tom Ster

2016-2017 Session Commissions:

Christian Education – Kathy Allemang & Phillip Horen
Congregational Life – Owen Clymer & Larry Langer
Clerk – Owen Clymer
Facilities – Larry Coffman & Rob Henry
Finance – Gordon Parnell & Tom Ster
Human Resources – David Boyne & Carol Minor
New Connections – Susan Hernandez
Social Justice – Jeff McKenna
Stewardship – Dennis Richards
Worship – John McComish & Diane Sellers


The role of the Deacons is one of “sympathy, service and witness” to the love of God as shown in the life of Jesus Christ.  In the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A), the office of Deacon is designed “to minister to those in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith.” (Book of Order, G-6.0402). The origin of “deacon” is the Greek word diakonos, “servant.”

At Mission del Sol we have an elected Board of Deacons who oversee our numerous mission projects and guide the congregation in reaching out to others in our community and around the world.

Class of 2017 Class of 2018 Class of 2019
Matt Bruggeman
Hilary Cummings
Sharon McPherson
Stuart Parnell
Janet Thor
Bill Brazelton
Christopher Brown
Jessica Griesbeck
Sue Zahradnik
Marshall Cummings
Karen McComish
Flori Welty
Megan Whittard

Click to download: Commission and Deacon Ministry Descriptions

Click to download: Commission and Deacons Goals 2016-2017